Home » Behavioural Change » Is Domestic Violence against Men a hidden Crime?

Is Domestic Violence against Men a hidden Crime?

Categories

For both men and women, domestic violence includes kicking, slapping, hitting, pushing throwing objects, slamming doors or striking the other with objects or even abusing. Also it can be mental or emotional.  It is common to note that there are many reports of domestic violence against women especially in African countries. Very few cases have been reported of men being affected in the same way. However, in actual sense many men have been assaulted and even raped by either their wives or other women.

Could the issue be that culturally men think they are the bosses and cannot report such cases, or because they are more feminists supporting women that the male gender?

According to African culture no man is supposed to be vulnerable, to be a man, u must be strong and never cry, and look after the whole family. When he fails to reach that set standard, society perceives that he is not man enough. As a result, men tend to keep quiet even when they are thoroughly beaten or burnt. I have a case of a man whose face was burnt by hot water but when asked what had happened to him, he claimed he fell while riding a bicycle.

If the current trends continue however, women may end up increasingly charged with domestic assault, and men more likely to be offered help and protection in the courts of law.

Men should stand up and report domestic violence cases before the situation worsens.

In my own view, a man is a man if he is able to report domestic violence. He will seize to be a man if he is killed in such instances.

24 Comments

  1. Amedar says:

    Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last several posts have been kinda boringˇK I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a little out of track! come on!

  2. Most people think it is OK for women to batter their intimate partners, as long as the violence is moderate to light. I have never met a man who has not been disciplined by his wife/girlriend using a punch to the shoulder, at the very least. Slaps and kicks are less ubiquitous, but still common and accepted ways in which women discipline “their men”. There is a television show right now where boysfriends are rigged with electrical devices so that their girlfriends can “shock” them whenever they say or do the wrong thing.

    The law is just a reflection of this social reality. Yes, violence by women against men is condoned and accepted. Not every woman DOES this, but every woman knows she CAN DO this.

  3. Amedar says:

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  4. Could you says:

    I think that is among the such a lot vital information for me. And i¡¯m satisfied reading your article. However want to observation on few general issues, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is actually excellent : D. Good activity, cheers

  5. Mariah says:

    I guess it is not okay to batter each other …..and this explaind why married couples kill each other of late

  6. Looking regarding wedded seeking single web-site, you¡¯ve go to a good option. go here after which enroll in completely free.

  7. New samsung says:

    I simply couldn¡¯t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply in your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  8. Ideal says:

    I ¡®m really inspired with your writing talents as well as with the layout for a weblog. Is this a paid topic or did a person modify it on your own? Anyway stay up the excellent good quality writing, it will be rare to look a wonderful blog this way one these days..

  9. Perfect says:

    Very good info can be found on this web site.

  10. i totally agree with what’s been written here. thank you for providing and sharing the post.

  11. Anety says:

    Sites we Like……

    […] Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose […]……

  12. awesome blog. i enjoyed reading your articles. this is truly a great read for me. i have bookmarked it and i am looking forward to reading new articles. cheers.

  13. Hi there, I discovered your web site via Google at the same time as looking for a comparable topic, your web site came up, it appears to be like good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks. http://fiverr.com/worldofseo

  14. I simply want to mention I am newbie to weblog and truly savored your blog. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely have good stories. Thanks for revealing your web site.

  15. Otrazhenie says:

    Very good post. Totally agree with you on that. Unfortunately, domestic violence affects both men and women and not only in African culture 😦 . Thanks for sharing this post.

  16. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

  17. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it,
    you are a great author. I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later on.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great job, have a nice morning!

  18. Hello, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse
    every one is sharing data, that’s genuinely fine, keep up writing.

  19. A person necessarily lend a hand to make seriously
    articles I would state. That is the first time I
    frequented your website page and so far? I surprised with the research you made
    to create this actual post extraordinary.
    Excellent activity!

  20. Buford says:

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and
    I am impressed! Very helpful info particularly the remaining section 🙂 I care for such information much.
    I used to be seeking this certain info for a very lengthy
    time. Thank you and good luck.

  21. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog readers have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 104 other followers

Our Twitter Updates

Page Uploads

wordpress statistics

Unique Visitors

  • 8,142
